LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I call sub vi's remotely on PXI RT Target from Host Laptop?

Solved!
Go to solution

I have about 20 sub-vis on my PXI RT target that I want to run exactly one time when commanded from my Host laptop front panel. There must be an easy way to do this but I am still fairly new to LV. The way I am doing it now is by commanding a shared variable (latched-boolean) from the host to trigger a case structure on the target. This works the vast majority of the time, but the problem with this is that sometimes the host vi will finish executing its loop and latch the boolean back to false before the target has a chance to run the sub-vi. What is the correct way to do this??

Host_and_Target_VIS.PNG

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(4,324 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Michael_Fidler

Hi Michael,

I am glad to help with your question. Some nice ways to accomplish what you are trying to do are mentioned in this document: (http://digital.ni.com/public.nsf/allkb/F64D92E0BCA34162862573BD0072F807). 

Specifically, I would recommend using VI Server to programatically run LabVIEW Real-Time VIs from a host application on your laptop. Please let me know if you need additional information on how to do this, or if you try it out and have any problems. Note that you will have to make sure that your subVIs and all dependencies are copied to the real-time target hard drive for this method to work.

Best Regards,

Casey Weltzin

Product Manager, LabVIEW Real-Time

National Instruments 

Message 2 of 8
(4,309 Views)

Thanks for the prompt reply, Casey.