From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How can a VI be both server and client?

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi, 

I'm new in LabView and I'm trying to build a server and client VI using TCP/IP that runs in two computers. in my program I need both server and client VIs to communicate with each other which means I need both VIs to be server and client. I've tried using a case structure but it doesnt work. The only thing I achieved is a normal server/client system where the server sends a request and the client responses.But i need the client to send requests too.i have attached my VIs to this post.I would appriciate it if someone could help with this problem. 

Thanks in advanced. 

Rambaldi.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 15
(3,973 Views)

I suggest looking at network shared variables. Your TCP vis can not use the same port if both are running on the same machine.

=====================
LabVIEW 2012

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 15
(3,957 Views)

Do you really need a client and server on each PC? If you simply need that two to talk to each other they can once the client connects to the server. In most cases you only need one server.

What Steve said about the not using the same port only applies to two servers on the same machine. A client must use the port the server is listening to and if the client and the server are on the same machine then they will both use the same port. However, only ONE of them is accepting waiting for connections on that port.