LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How can I tell what SubVI my program is stuck on when it is in a loop 4 SubVIs deep?

I've been programming in LabVIEW for several years and I've run into a persistent debugging issue which I hope there is a solution for. 

I have a program, for example, that has 50 SubVis, with some of them up to 4 deep inside their own SubVIs. When I run the top level VI and after performing a series of steps for 10 minutes, the program seems to be stuck and is not giving an error or completing. Somewhere in one of the SubVIs it is stuck in a loop. Is there a quick way to figure out exactly where it is stuck?

My current process of debugging is to stop the program, place a breakpoint before where it seems to get stuck, rerun to the breakpoint, and then highlight execution and step through it.

Is there some setting or menu item that can show me, while the program is running, that the current position of the data flow is in "Measure14.vi" for example?

I know I can pause the program and click highlight execution and hunt around inside SubVIs until I can find the one being executed, but this can take a long time for a complicated program. Is there a better way?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(2,876 Views)

When you have highlight execution turned on in a VI, if the execution is in a subVI, that subVI will have a green arrow on it.

Message 2 of 5
(2,845 Views)

I might be tempted to write a VI that, when called, figures out the name of the VI that called it (i.e. the VI in which it was "embedded"), then opens a "Trace" file, goes to its end, writes a line identifying its "parent", and closes the Trace.  Now, if the main routine "gets stuck", you can look at the Trace file and see the sequence of VIs, including the last one called (and possibly where it is "stuck").