LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How can I stop and restart a .vi with a single front panel button?

Solved!
Go to solution

Hey guys, a newbie here.

I have a .vi with a stacked sequence. The first few frames are hardware initialization and settings (LIN master node) and the data the hardware should transmit (frame response table). In the next frame there's a loop in which the hardware sends and recieves data (LIN monitor). If I want to change the initialization, settings or data values, I have to stop the .vi and restart it. I was wondering if there is a simple way of doing this with a single click (a button on the front panel).

An alternative would be to put another loop outiside the whole stacked sequence and then run it a single time with a push of a button (the inner loop should let the outer one restart), is that possible?

I hope I made any sense. Thanks for any suggestions.

Tomaz

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(7,374 Views)

Hi,

Can you post your vi?

Gaurav k
CLD Certified !!!!!
Do not forget to Mark solution and to give Kudo if problem is solved.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(7,363 Views)

It has about 100 custom subVIs, I don't think posting it would be of much use. Basically, the vi goes like this:

stacked sequence: do A -> do B -> do loop until "stop".

I'd like a way to start again from the beginning of the sequence ("do A") without stopping and restarting the VI (or doing this with a single button).

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 11
(7,353 Views)
Sounds like you need a State Machine.  It's pretty easy to implement.
Jim
You're entirely bonkers. But I'll tell you a secret. All the best people are. ~ Alice
For he does not know what will happen; So who can tell him when it will occur? Eccl. 8:7

Message 4 of 11
(7,348 Views)