cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How can I optimize this code?

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi all,

The function I want to realize is very simple. Reading the data from DAQ, play the sound file if a rising edge is detected, and stop playing if a falling edge is detected.

Attachment is my code, it works, but if I stop the program and start it again, the program will somehow get stuck(but no error), then all I can do is end the task and reopen the program. I put two case structures for each channel, I believe the problem is caused by the second case structure.

Piano1.jpg

I am a beginner of labview, could someone help me optimize this code?

Thank you!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(3,833 Views)

While this is not specifically in relation to the part of the code you are worried about it might help.

Have a look at the example finder for "Continuous Digital Input". I feel like using a digital input for your keys would make a lot of your logic much simpler so that you dont have to detect the rising edges.

After that  I would recommend a simple state machine using shift registers so that if there is no change then do nothing, if the state changes the trigger the playing or ending of the sound. That way you can merge your two case structures into a single one since in no instance should you be receiving a rising edge and a falling edge at the same time.

On another note, I would consider moving from the multiple file paths to a single folder path that you then create the paths from known information.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(3,790 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author yatang

First of all, use arrays to your benefit.  You can make this fairly simple by converting the Dynamic Data Type to an array of waveforms.  The Trigger Detection can process an array of waveforms.  You can then process all of the trigger detections in a FOR loop, updating which trigger (and the level) you are looking for dynamically.

GCentral