cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How can I measure the dc component of the voltage with LabView and a PXIe-4496

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I am using a NI PXIe-1073 with a PXIe-4496 for several applications. In one of them, I would need to measure voltage, keeping the dc component (it`s a MEMS accelemeter). If it is vertical upright, it gives, for example, +2V, and I need to keep reading that almost constant value.

However, with the DAQ assisstant in LabView, it seems that it reads only the changing component of the signal, as if it doesn´t move, it reads almost 0. If it moves, the, the DAQ system takes the change but then goes back to zero. 

Is this normal? Can I read the constant part of the signal?

(I am a mechnical engineer and I am not at all an expert in signals or data acquisition, so I am probably just missing something basic)

I attach an example in which, after a change, it goes back to zero, and the configuration in the DAQ assistant

Thank you

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(3,707 Views)

It looks like you have a grounding issue or your incoming signal is AC coupled.  Do you have a wiring diagram of how the sensor is hooked up to the DAQ?  I'm not sure what PseudoDifferential really means (the descriptions I have found don't say much).  You probably want to use Referenced Single Ended (RSE) for your setup.  But it's hard to say without knowing how the sensor should be hooked up.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(3,706 Views)

Thank you for your response.

I attach a wiring diagram (the accelerometer is a MEMS DE-ACCM3D, reading for example the X channel).

Notes:

a) If I read with a voltimeter, instead of the NI DAQ, y have my constant tension of aprox. 2V.