LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How can I get the NI Robotics Starter Kit to go to a certain coordinate?

Hey all,

I am brand new to the world of robotics and I am currently working on a project using the NI Robotics Starter Kit aka DaNI and Labview 2010. At the moment I am trying to figure out a way to get the robot to travel to a certain set of coordinates from its starting spot. I am an absolute noob when it comes to Labview seeing as how I had never even heard of it before a couple weeks ago. I've gotten it roaming on its own using the roaming vi that was included with the software, but that doesn't really help me all too much as far as my project is concerned. Any bump in the right direction will be greatly appreciated. Thanks!!

-Samie

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(3,887 Views)

Hi Samie,

Welcome to the world of robotics!  I'm excited to hear that your using the NI Robotics Start Kit and LabVIEW. 

First, let me say that what you're asking is one of the most useful capabilities of a mobile robot, but can also be one of the most difficult to implement!  I'll try and give you a couple suggestions and point you to some good resources. However, can you tell me a little more about the project you are working on?  Many times, there are simple approaches for a robot to accomplish a goal without necessarily knowing where it is in absolute coordinates.