LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ho can I change a contraol variable value automaticly in an exact time

Hello

I am very new to LabVIEW. I would like to be able to change the vale of a global variable automatically in exact times. For example, I have a global variable that tells my DAC to set the resolution at a value (let say 3) and then after 3 min I need this value to change to 5 and then after 3 min to 0 and do on. The values are between 0-8. I appreciate if you have any idea to help me with that. Timing and being able to set the order of value is very important in my current VI. Thanks

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(649 Views)

Hi Shhashemi,

@Shhashemi wrote:

change the vale of a global variable automatically in exact times.

For example, I have a global variable that tells my DAC to set the resolution at a value (let say 3) and then after 3 min I need this value to change to 5

Why do you need a global variable for that purpose?

How does your "DAC" recognize you have changed the global's value exactly after 3min?

Wouldn't it make more sense to send a command to your "DAC" at the required time to change a setting without using an additional global variable?

@Shhashemi wrote:

Timing and being able to set the order of value is very important in my current VI.

Use a FOR loop to index over an input array holding the time delays and setpoint values. Inside the loop you just need a wait function and a "set value" operation…

Hint: From your question it seems you should investigate in/learn about using state machines…

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 4
(614 Views)

You mean change something after a certain time interval not exact time...

Anyway in the timing pallet there are several items that can be used to wait for a certain amount of time.

tpUntitled.png 

========================
=== Engineer Ambiguously ===
========================
0 Kudos