From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

High frequency sampling with VISA-COM port

Solved!
Go to solution

Dear All!

First of all, I'm kinda new to Labview, but I'm making a Labview program in which I'm using DAQmx (hardware: USB-6001) to acquire some analog signals at 1000 Hz, and give out one digital (high or low) signal. This part is running smoothly, but there is also a digital scale from which through COM port I would like to collect continuously the weight data. If I use the VISA read inside the while loop, the frequency drops to 23 Hz, and has an impact on all the acquisitions. I do not want to get samples at 1000 Hz from the scale, but I would like to connect the data from it with all the other data I acquired. One thing in regard the scale: it's sending the weight data continuously at about 23-24 Hz with no trigger needed.

So my question is, how can I connect the 23-24 Hz data from the scale through COM port with all the other data with 1000 Hz?

I attached the VI and also a picture too.

Thank you!

polbazs_0-1606335033655.png

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(1,135 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author polbazs

Your DAQ Assistant is currently set for 1 sample at 2 Hz.

What is the baud rate of your digital scale?  You didn't set it in the VI, so it defaults to 9600 baud.  That means the best you can do is get about 100 bytes per second.  There is no way to get 1000's of Hz of data out of that.  In general, serial ports aren't meant for  "high frequency".