LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help with reading information coming from a software into LabVIEW through Serial port

Hi,

I am new to LabVIEW and also an amateur in using RS232 for communication. I have this software that has these icons like speed increase/decrease, elevation up/down, start/stop. Now, when I click these buttons on the software, they perform the appropriate functions. For example, if I press start button, the signal must go through a serial COM port into LabVIEW to start the machine. How do I do that? How do I find what format the code word is when I press a button on the software? And how to decode the information to read whether the button pushed is start etc...? Any help would be appreciated.

I may not be perfect, but I'm all I got!
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 66
(3,585 Views)

That information would be in the programming manual for the device you're controlling. Unless you have a device that has no documentation or you cannot get the documentation that's the first place you should look. If you cannot get the documentation at all then you've got some reverse-engineering to do. To do this you will either need a serial port sniffer (a hardware device), or you can try to use a software-based port capturing program. On Windows PortMon is the most prevalent. This will show you how the port was configured (baud rate, stop bits, etc). Warning: the information is technical.

As far as how to get it running in LabVIEW, you should take a look at the serial port communication examples that ship with LabVIEW. The most problems occur in figuring out how to (a) terminate a write command, and (b) determining when to stop reading. For (a) this is typically done by appending a carriage return or linefeed to the command. This is device dependent. For (b) this is usually done by the byte stream ending with a character like a linefeed. Again, this is device-dependent.