LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help with building a logging vi for strain measurements with cRio

Hi all,

I'm an engineering student currently working on my thesis project which includes measuring some frame stresses from truck trailers. However I'm unfortunate enough not to have any experts at my school on Labview since the only teacher who has been doing programming with it left on a work trip for three months and my measurements are already due next week. He got me started with my coding but to be frank, I'm still quite puzzled by Labview since I haven't been using it at all before.

My equipment for the measurements are cRio 9022 with universal analog module 9219 and strain gage module 9235. The measurement is currently done as a state machine which monitors the gage signals and initiates the measurement if the signal passes a certain treshold. After that it should log the results combined with date & time as a spreadsheet file to a connected USB stick. So basically nothing more fancy than data logging.

My most pressing questions are that how am I able to know what is the excitation voltage coming from the above mentioned modules? As attached in the screenshot below (Presence_detection), I have displayed the reading from the modules before conversion to stress but the readings make no sense since they say only 0,0029 Volts or so. 9235 excitation voltage should be 2 volts and for 9219 50 mV - I don't even know if this is enough to get reliable readings? Also 9235 module has an internal shunt calibration but I don't know how to operate it - it should be done somehow with the software, I think?

I would also like to have help with writing the spreadsheet file to the USB since I have absolutely no idea how it should commence. My desire is to have a new spreadsheet created every 30 mins to one hour so that the size of the file wouldn't grow into too big (with sampling rate of 10 hZ).