From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help with PID control for heaters in test loop

Hello,

I recently started learning LabVIEW (2020), so please bear with me. 

I am setting up an experiment loop to collect data on compressor performance.

The setup is essentially: Heater > Compressor Intake > Compressor Exhaust > Flow Meter (all connected inline with 1" pipe).

I need to collect temp from thermocouples, 4-20mA readings from pressure transducers, and 4-20mA readings from Delta-P meters across the compressor.

I wrote the Temp Measuring VI which reads from 5 thermocouples and stores the data as TDMS files automatically.

There will be another VI that will collect all pressure readings and save them as TDMS automatically as well.

I am having trouble with the Heater PID control program (SSR PID Control). I have the NI 9485 SSR with a Schneider Electric 240VAC SSR. The idea is to have the NI SSR activate the SE SSR. In the VI, I started a queue that collects data (DAQ Assistant) from the 2 thermocouple channels in the heater box. The data is then dequeued and the two channel values (most recent) are averaged. This is the process variable for the PID block. The output of the PID is multiplied by the relay period, etc to get the SSR time on/off. Since there are two heater coils in the box, there are 2 SE SSRs on the NI SSR card. I used digital write (1Line 1Point) to write the data to the SSR channels. My questions are as follows:

How can I track % time on/off?

How do I make sure I don't overshoot and burn the heaters when using digital outputs? They heat up within seconds, I'm told.