cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help, Slow Data Acquisition Process with Loops

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I am currently trying to combine the data acquisition results from a 28 thermocouple NI cDAQ 9174 and 4 other sensors (2 of which are ifm TA2114 and the others are ifm SM6004). I am running the cDAQ directly to my computer via a USB and the other 4 are being sent through the PLCs to a OPC and finally to the datasocket blocks in labview. In short, the data is successfully coming in and being sent to a database I have set up on another laptop.

The problem: The process is incredibly slow. I am fairly new to LabVIEW and was wondering if there was anything I could do within the code to speed things up. I realize without the sensor set up the program cant be run but perhaps there is something that can be observed. Any help would be much appreciated.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(3,057 Views)

Suggestion -- arrange your VIs so that the Error Line only runs left-to-right without doubling back on itself (making it difficult to tell "Who Runs First?").

I've not done much with cDAQ, so I may be completely wrong about this, but I'm used to having three different DAQ devices (cDAQMod1, cDAQMod2, and CDAQMod4) have their own DAQmx Tasks, not all bundled together on the same Task wire.

Your While Loop only does a single DAQmx Read, as the Task is Cleared after the data are read.  So the longer you run the loop, the slower the acquisition speed will appear to be (N bytes / longer time = slower rate).

Bob Schor

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(3,019 Views)

@Bob_Schor wrote:

I've not done much with cDAQ, so I may be completely wrong about this, but I'm used to having three different DAQ devices (cDAQMod1, cDAQMod2, and CDAQMod4) have their own DAQmx Tasks, not all bundled together on the same Task wire.