LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Headers with Data Underneath

Hello all, I am pretty new to labview, and I've seen variations of this question asked, but none have really quite answered it the way I need it to. So my question is this: I want to put data underneath column headers, then append only the data. Right now I have it set up so it appends both the header and the data every run. I will attach the code I am using, the output file that my code produces, and the sample file which is what I would like my output file to look like. The files attached are .xls but I will be using .csv. (Attachment issue) Thanks in advance.

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 22
(3,077 Views)

Hi Szklanam,

as surely was written in older threads: you have to create the header once when creating the file. Afterwards you only append the measurement data...

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 22
(3,068 Views)

Thank you, now how would you go about doing this on a "Write to Text File" block?

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 22
(3,059 Views)

Hi Szklanam,

I'd consider doing this using the 'Write to Spreadsheet' VIs. This link shows how you can add a header to the spreadsheet file.

Hope it helps,

-CC 

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
"If anyone needs me, I'll be in the Angry Dome!"

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 22
(3,053 Views)

And additionally the context help for that function explains how to append new data to a file using that function...

Best regards,
GerdW

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 22
(3,051 Views)

Good advice Gerd. The context is always your friend when using new functions. You can also click on the 'detailed help' text to get a much more detailed breakdown of the VI.

-CC 

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------