LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Headers in Write LVM File Express VI

I’d like to change the headers in the Write Labview Measurement Express VI. Basically I’d just like the headers to be just an updated current time and date. I have seen here a way to change them, but it seems rather complicated. I am still rather new at using Labview and would like to keep the Express VI since it easy to use. I was not sure if anyone else has created a VI similar or along these lines. I’m using Labview Express 7. Any help anyone could provide would be much appreciated.

Thanks…

e-mail at: haffey811@aol.com
Using Labview 7.0 and 2010 SP1 with Windows XP and 7.
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 18
(3,564 Views)
The express VI's are designed to be simple and easy to use. The trade-off for this benefit is lost flexibility. I'm afraid there's no way of manually configuring the header without modifying the express VI itself, as outlined in the KB Programmatically Define the Description Terminal of a LabVIEW Measurement (LVM) File, which I assume you are referring to.

If you want more flexibility with file I/O, I suggest you use the lower-level file I/O functions and the file I/O palette rather than the LVM Express VI. They are not much more difficult or complicated to use, depending on what you are doing. There are numerous examples in the Example Finder illustrating different techniques for saving data to disk.
Robert Mortensen
Software Engineer
National Instruments
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 18
(3,549 Views)