LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

HP4142B control

I am new to LabVIEW, and I am trying to control an HP4142B with LabVIEW 7.0. I have extablished communication with the 4142 and can control it with the Instrument I/O Assistant, but I need the flexibility to have the user input paramaters such as channel #, voltage, current, limits, etc. When I did this in VEE, each time I created a variable in the control block for the 4142, it automatically created an input pin for that variable. I think when I figure out how to do this in LabVIEW, I'll be able to add knobs or whatever I want to control the variables. I plan to create a front panel that looks like the 4142 except has controls, but if someone has already done this (or something close) I'd love to see it. Thanks.
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(5,853 Views)
I/O Assistant is easy, but this is not what you want to use in this case. What you want to do in Labview will be somewhat similar to what you do in VEE. Instead of using I/O Assistant, use the basic GPIB functions. Create your controls on the front panel. You can wire these controls as inputs to the GPIB functions. Example: create a Numeric control called voltage. On the block diagram, create a string with the GPIB command except leave out the voltage setting. Use the Number To String function to convert the control value into a string. Concat the GPIB command with the voltage control string. Use this as input to the GPIB write function. If you are familiar with VISA, you do not have to look up the GPIB command string. You can use the VISA instrumen
t drivers and wire the front panel voltage control directly to the VISA function for setting up the instrument. I am sure there are some examples for the 4142 on the NI website. Good Luck.
- tbob

Inventor of the WORM Global
Message 2 of 11
(5,852 Views)
For details on how to create a LabVIEW instrument driver, go here. And welcome to LabVIEW.