LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

HP33120A IVI Driver Problems

I am having some problems with the NI IVI driver for the Agilent 33120A Function Generator. I am controling the 33120 through the serial port and I am able to control it. The problem I am having is that every time I want to change just one thing such as the frequency, the generator resets. I am using the Inialize VI from the driver set, then into the Write Instrument Data VI then the Close. I have tracked the problem down to the Initalize VI. Every time it is run, the generator resets, even though I have both the query and reset inputs set to False. I am not sure if there is a way around using the Initalize VI, since I have no experience with the IVI drivers. Using GPIB is not an option, since the application will be stand alone a
nd I do not wish to force the GPIB issue. I have attached a VI for changing duty cycle as an example. Any help would be appreciated.
Troy
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(2,521 Views)
I looked at the source code for the driver and it appears (through very rusty C eyes) that the init function either does a reset or configures the instrument to some default configuration. There is really no reason to use the Init function more than once in a program. Use it once at the beginning to set the instrument to a known state and then just call whatever functions you need later. The issue has nothing to do with either serial or gpib. It's really more an IVI standard I believe.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 4
(2,521 Views)