cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

HOW DO I READ VOLTAGE IN-PHASE?

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello

This must be very basic for most engineers except I'm not an engineer! .

I plan to buy  Dac Card USB-6356   to read four analog inputs.  I need to read those input in-phase.

So I need to get those four inputs read in-phase and do some simple calculation.

I have not purchased the card because I want to make sure I will be able to read accurate data.

Now we use North Atlantic Instruments   Digital Analyzer  Model 2251  to read voltage in-phase.

What VIs do I use to make sure what ever voltage in the range of 0.8 to 2.6  is read in-phase?

This is the formula I will perform after I get the in-phase voltage:  V1 - V2 / V1 + V2   

Thanks

JCollado
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(3,472 Views)

if by "in phase" you mean "simultaneous sampling", the USB-6356 should be able to do what you want.

Message 2 of 6
(3,470 Views)

Hello JCollado,

This is Andrew Brown, an Applications Engineer from National Instruments. I agree that the USB-6356 simultaneous sampling module should be able to read the voltages in phase. The normal DAQmx Read function should work to take in those in-phase voltages, though the DAQ Assistant would also work if you are interested in simple set-up of your program. To help you get going, here is a good Getting Started with NI-DAQmx guide.

Please let me know if you have related questions.

Regards,

Andrew Brown 

Software Engineer
National Instruments
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 6
(3,446 Views)

Ok

I got a bit mor information and this is what it means to read in-phase  voltage.

We have a primary Coil on the LVDT which is read for reference and a secondary 1 and secondary 2.

When we read the secondary we must not read RMS voltage we must read it in-phase with the Primary signal.

Please see image attached.