LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Guitar tuner

Ok I'm a college student and I have been give an assignment in an honors class  to build a program using sound waves. The assignment is pretty mush open to anything, I though what better thing to do then a guitar tuner!! ( because I play guitar). Then I started messing around with labview realized ' wow this might not be doable'. So my question is this : I have a computer with labeview 8 and a external mic, can I use this mic to pickup sound frequencies and throw them into labview? With that, create a program that can display the frequency ( as a number and in a graph). I guess I would have to program the exact freq for each string and when it meets that freq a light flash. And do this 6 times for each string? IM just getting frustrated because there are so many functions and it is very unclear what most of them do. So any help would be AMAZING!!! Thanks!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(8,954 Views)

thebrakshow wrote:

Ok I'm a college student and I have been give an assignment in an honors class  to build a program using sound waves. The assignment is pretty mush open to anything, I though what better thing to do then a guitar tuner!! ( because I play guitar). Then I started messing around with labview realized ' wow this might not be doable'. So my question is this : I have a computer with labeview 8 and a external mic, can I use this mic to pickup sound frequencies and throw them into labview? With that, create a program that can display the frequency ( as a number and in a graph). I guess I would have to program the exact freq for each string and when it meets that freq a light flash. And do this 6 times for each string? IM just getting frustrated because there are so many functions and it is very unclear what most of them do. So any help would be AMAZING!!! Thanks!

Hi,

it's definitely doable! I wrote one years ago for my son...