LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Guidance on G Interfaces

Hi,

I'm intrigued by interfaces as we have been fighting the “fragile base class” problem discussed in the interfaces presentation and am looking for some feedback. Unfortunately, I have no practical experience with them so am struggling as to what/where an interface fits on the diagram. Please see the attached picture for my example.

In the diagram are three different types of instruments all using GPIB for communication. Does it make sense that the interface be GPIB as diagramed, or does it make more sense that the Abstract Layers be interfaces and the instruments inherit from GPIB? Since the interface doesn't have data, should the concrete implementations hold the GPIB data such as the ibsta Boolean array?

Thanks!

interfaces.PNG

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(2,288 Views)

Caveat - this is my personal opinion.

Interfaces are intended to express some contract for behavior - generally represented by method calls. The contract is determined by the code that will call the object implementing that interface. Interfaces offer the advantage that an object can implement more than one of them - which means that object can be treated as any one of its different interface 'facets'.

If this sounds similar to multiple inheritance, its because it is. The only difference (conceptually) between interface implementation and traditional multiple inheritance is that there is no object data in play which reduces one area of potential conflict.

The question you have to ask yourself is pretty much the same as with inheritance:

• Are you sharing a common contract between classes? So that a caller can treat the device objects the same in some way.
  • Or are you sharing functionality? So while the device object contracts differ, there is some internal logic that is replicated in each.