From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Greater Than 10 check

Solved!
Go to solution

I'm trying to solve a basic question in Essick's 'Hands On Introduction to LabView' If the iteration value is > 10, then the round LED lights. I've used all the suggested icons in the questions. Still, the VI doesn't work. I'm quite new to LabView and still familiarizing myself. 

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(4,074 Views)

Please do a Save for Previous Version and save back to LV 2017.

LV 2018 just came out a month ago and not all of us have installed it yet.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(4,069 Views)
Solution
Accepted by dbhadra

Hi dbhadra,

I took a look at the VI you uploaded and there are a couple of problems.

Firstly, let me remind you that when working with loops, only the things inside the loop will be updated on each iteration. Since your boolean indicator is outside of the loop, it won't be updated with each iteration!

Further, check where the values you're setting go - the "Highlight Execution" mode (little lightbulb on the toolbar of the Block Diagram, near the left) is helpful for this.

As a final consideration, when you use a Select node with "True" and "False" constants wired to the True and False sides, what will the output be? If this isn't straightforward to answer, write out a "truth table" with inputs (i.e. the selector value) and outputs (the right side of the Select node) and see if you can consider a simpler method.

There are some (unfortunately crucial) flaws in your program as it stands, but hopefully with the Highlight Execution turned on you can see what's going on and make progress.

Spoiler