LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Global Variables Are Better than Functional Globals - So There! :-)

Solved!
Go to solution

I am feeling a little controversial today so forgive the blunt title of this post Smiley Very Happy

I have never used global variables because I was under the misconception that they are somehow "bad". That is all I have heard from the time I started learning LabVIEW. Look at code in the upconvert and downconvert threads. Some of the ugliest code uses globals and some of the most beautiful code does not. This implies that bad programmers use global variables and therefore globals are bad programming practice. This is not true. Globals are just easy to use so beginners use them. "Uninitialized what? I can't find those on the pallette?"

I think I always subconsciously questioned that globals are bad. They are not bad it is how they are used that can be bad. This is true of anything in life.

The first and most obvious problem with global variables is race conditions. But it is not strictly the global that causes the race condition. It is the undefined dataflow.

global-race.PNG

But the same is true of a functional global if used incorrectly. In the example below there is nothing to enforce dataflow.

fgrace.PNG

You need to enforce the dataflow with an error wire for example.

fgnorace.PNG

Globals do not have an error wire but not to fear - the sequence man is here!

global.PNG