LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Give up on Labview??

Hi, i've been using Labview since 1998 as a student. Then for my employers, as of lately i've had not much use for Labview (2 years not written a program). Recently I've been using PLC software packages (ladder, Structured text language) because there seems to be more "use" for this type programming. I'm just wondering if i should give up with Labview? and stick with the PLC software packages. I do enjoy programming in Labview but as they don't have free version of the software its pretty hard to keep my standard up to scratch (no practice). Can anyone give me any advice? Has anyone been in this situation?

Stu

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(3,155 Views)

I've always wondered what I would do if my employer stopped providing LabVIEW.  I guess I would find an old LabVIEW on ebay and code that way.  Sure the latest and gratest version is nice but the older copies are still good.

Couldn't you invest a small amount in an old version of LabVIEW and continue your training?  I wonder if that's even possible.

CLAD
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 13
(3,128 Views)

If your employer does have a license, then it does permit you to install a copy at home. Technically, it's defined as being for business use, but usually it's used as a personal, non-professional copy.

Sparkfun used to have an Arduino+LV student edition bundle for $50, but it seems to have been discontinued. I think if you get a Lego Mindstorms (which I think is $250) you can get LV for free so that you can use the toolkit, although according to this page, it looks as if you can download LV 8.6 even if you don't actually have an NXT - http://www.ni.com/white-paper/4435/en