From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

GPIB connection with Keithley 2400 source meter

Hello, I am trying to write a short Labview program to read from Keithley 2400 source meter. The purpose of this work is to source a current and monitor the voltage value vs. time. The GPIB card is Keithley KUSB-488A.
The GPIB address of the source meter is 24. And I use "GPIB read" to get data from the source meter. My question is how do I know the output from "GPIB read" is an array or string? And how do I know which output is the voltage ( I suppose there will be several signals output from the source meter).
I am totally new in Labview, so any suggesions will be highly appreciated.
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(9,482 Views)
You should first download the driver for the instrument if you don't already have it. This will make your life easier. You can find a driver for the instument in the Instrument Driver Network. Direct link to driver.

General answer to your question: The GPIB Read always returns a string, so it's never an array. Whether or not the string should be parsed to create an array completely depends on the response.

Note: Use of the "GPIB Read" function is discouraged in preference of using VISA. The VISA Read function is functionally equivalent to the GPIB Read function.
Message 2 of 11
(9,475 Views)