LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Frequency measurements off USB 6009 digital in

I am fairly new to using lab view, but there has to be an extremely obvious answer to this I haven't found it.

I have a digital reference signal from an optical chopper that controls some other functions of my setup, but I want to know the frequency of the digital signal with some degree of error would be nice as well. I am using lab view 8.5.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(3,708 Views)

I think that the digital I/O on the USB-6009 is software timed with a maximum rate of about 150 readings per second.

This means that it is almost unusable for frequency measurements unless you can measure the frequency with a calendar.

You might be able to use an analog input (which can sample up to 48 kS/s, I think). You could then analyze the data collected to get a frequency.

Lynn

Message 2 of 12
(3,701 Views)

My frequency range is 10Hz-80Hz so that should not be an issue.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 12
(3,695 Views)

You could use the analog input for that range.  The digital input would not work at the higher end of the range because of the Nyquist limit and because the timing jitter would make it rather difficult to actually determine frequency.

Lynn

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 12
(3,689 Views)

I don't terribly care about the higher range of frequencies. I constructed a program that will count and then divide by time, but that will not tell me if there is any variation between pulses or error in the frequency. I would like to keep the digital becasue other wise I will be rewriting the section of my program that opperates off of the digital reference signal coming in.

Adrian

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 12
(3,680 Views)

Hello Adrian