From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Freelancing in SF Bay Area rates

Hi all, I would like to start freelancing in the San Francisco Bay Area, but I am not sure how much to charge... Hopefully I can get some suggestions from the community.

I have been using LabVIEW for about 5 years now, with experience in IMAQ, DIO, AIO, GUI, datasocket, RS232, GPIB.. In addition, I also have experience working with C++, VB, C#, and know a little SQL. 

I only have the time to do this part time, but I just want a little padding on top of my normal salary 🙂

How do you guys do this?  How do you set rates?  Do you ever work for a flat rate for the whole project?  All these details seem kind of complicated for me.
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,497 Views)
Maybe try contacting your local NI sales rep he might have some advice for you. 
Brian
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(3,447 Views)

We might be interested in talking with you. 415-324-5855

Jeff

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(3,402 Views)
I would like to start freelancing in the San Francisco Bay Area,

First of all, frelancing in the "Bay Area" is a bit limiting. My work is all over he country.

If you have a CPU, a licensed copy of LV, and a net connection, then you can just as easily work for someone in New Jersey as in the Bay area.

but I am not sure how much to charge

Pick a number and hang it out there. If nobody calls you, charge less. If people are banging down your door, charge more. ;->

How do you guys do this? How do you set rates?

See above.

Do you ever work for a flat rate for the whole project?