LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fortran Dll in Labview

Hello, I'm new to LabVIEW and relatively new to Fortran as well.  I'm currently attempting to use the "Call Library Function Node" to use a Fortran .dll that I have written.  I'm passing several values into the library node and would like to see them updated by the subroutine I've selected so that they will come out the other side of the node with new values.

Currently, when running the VI, I receive an error "Error 1097 occurred at Call Library Function Node in MyDllTest.vi".  I've tried selecting both types of calling conventions, but it doesn't seem to make a difference.  Also, the values that I input into the dll block simply come out the other side untouched.  I am able to pick my subroutine as an option when setting up the dll node, but I've had to add all of the variables manually.  I'm not sure if that's correct behavior or not.

I have attached both my .vi and my Fortran code.

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(4,203 Views)

Hi adams156, 

The error is saying that there is something wrong with your fortran code. I would check your data types. I don't know if fortran considers a logical to be an integer. 

There is an example on this page you might find useful:  

http://forums.ni.com/t5/LabVIEW/Calling-compaq-visual-fortran-dll-from-labview/td-p/148244

Lastly, filling in the parameters yourself is expected for this type of dll. 

Jesse Dennis
Engineer
INTP
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(4,160 Views)

Thank you for your response.  That forum post is actually the guideline that I was going by when I started this project.  In order to check the fortran code, I went so far as to write a main function and compile it as an executable.  It compiled and ran succesfully.