LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Formatting String for Excel

I am very new to using Labview. I am using a Keithley2420 SourceMeter to communicate with Labview. I have the unit sucessfully communicating with Labview but now it's just an issue of formatting the data for Excel. I would like to have the data in decimal format so I tried to convert the string into a decimal string but my options only let me turn it into a number and not a string of numbers, maybe I selected it incorrectly. I also tried to take the data string from the read buffer from the Read VISA icon and put this into an array to spreadsheet and it says that I have unconnected wires, but I know I don't have an array to connect, I would have to create one, but I don't know if I am going about that the right way. It's a simple VI because I just need it to read from the buffer, and I just need the data in Excel. If anyone can help it would greatly appreciated. I have attached the base VI that I am using to manipulate. This VI will read the buffer and return values, just not in the format I would like. Thanks.
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 21
(7,453 Views)
Could you provide a sample output from your device, ie what it is you get from the buffer that you are trying to format.

Also, how often are you going to be reading the buffer??  I ask since the vi will only run once.

If you want to make an array, you could feed the string output of the Visa Read into a build array node (In the array palette) and then feed that into the Write To spreadsheet file.vi and that you create a tab delimited file that is easily read in excel.
Kenny

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 21
(7,442 Views)