LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Format for Predefined lists of repeated measurements with changing variables

Hi,

I am a scientist and trying to draw an instrument ("writing a script" sounded wrong for LabView ;)) that is supposed to perform repeated measurements in an imaging experiment.

I want to be able to give the instrument a list that defines the values for several variables for each repetition, because I want it to do different things in different episodes of the experiments and/or alternate different acquisition methods. In this way I can use the same script for a wide range of experimental paradigms.

I am trying to decide on the format in which I could write the sequence to LabView to read. I looked into XML, but the LabView scheme seems pretty useless. If I use a textfile I would have to program a parseing script myself. If I use binary files I need to program an editor.

I also thought about whether I want a line by line execution protocoll or just changing variables and leaving the execution protocoll integrated in the instrument. However, the latter would reduce the versatility.

What would you think is a good way to do it?

In general each measurement consists of:

0. wait for a defined time (always the same)

1. light on (different light sources)

2. acquire images (different durations, exposure times, frames numbers)

3. trigger a device (not in all repetitions, maybe changing devices in future)

4. turn on a channel (changing channels)

5. acquire images (different durations, exposure times, frames numbers - also different from step 2)

6. turn off the channel (same as in 4)

7. acquire images (different durations, exposure times, frames numbers - also different from step 2 and 5)

8. light off (same source as 1)

So there is basically a repetitive pattern. The image acquitisition 'epics' are performed by the same device, everything else is switching on and off channels of a NI PCI.

Dennis