cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fire "events" from object

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I am new to LabVIEW and am bringing in a bunch of preconceptions from the traditional object-oriented programming world that are making it hard to wrap my head around what I would like to accomplish.

I would like to achieve the following in a LabVIEW project.  I will have a stepper motor connected to LabVIEW via a USB module.  I would like to be able to wrap control of this motor into a class so that I can expose methods and properties like "move to a position" or "go home" or "what position am I currently at", similar to encapsulation in a traditional programming language.  I would also like to have controls on my user interface updated when changes to this motor occur.  For example, I want an indicator to display the current position of the motor.  This would normally make me think of implementing some sort of event fired by my motor class that gets handled (via an Event Structure) by the VI with the indicator.  However, I am not sure how to "fire" my own events in LabVIEW. 

I also would only want a single instance of the motor object to exist that various different VIs could connected to an listen to events from.  Normally this would be achieved by a pointer passed to all the other places in the code that need access to this object.  Perhaps some sort of reference in LabVIEW?

What would be the LabVIEW method of achieving this type of behavior?

Thanks in advance for any help!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(2,654 Views)

Look up User Event and then Queued Message Handler (QMH).  User Events are great for passing information to GUI loops (ie an Event Structure).  And I would recommend a Queued Message Handler for managing your motor and broadcasting the status updates.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines