LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Finding the period

Dear labview users,

i'm just starting to learn to use labview for a project (using labview 10) and i've encountered a problem.
i'm using VISA to read information from a microcontroller. the microcontroller gives an analog signal via USB to the computer from 0 to 1023(0 to 5V). the data that i'm getting is a sine with varying amplitudes. i'm able to plot it in both an waveform chart and an XY graph i've also been able to get it into an 2D array with the time on the second row.

now i need to calculate the period from that sine like signal and i've been unable to do that. i've tried peak detection, tone and pulse measurment and some others. and either i haven't been able to connect them properly or when i was able to connect the peak detection.vi i didn't get good measurments.

in the picture you'll see the basic program that i've build to read the data from the microcontroller. i'm using scan from string currently with an waveform chart. but i've also been able to build it with an decimal string to number and using an XY chart with on the X axis the time.

thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(6,823 Views)

At the risk of repeating myself, "A VI is Worth a Thousand Pictures".  Do not post pictures of your VI, post the VIs, themselves.  This saves us time and effort, so that we'll spend time and effort on helping you instead of saying "Please post your VI".

What do you know about Signal Analysis?  Signal properties?  How "clean" is your signal (a picture of your particular Signal, now that could be useful ...)?

If you've had a course on Signal Theory, you know the relationship between a signal and its frequency content, so I'll assume this is "new stuff" to you.  Look at your signal -- what operation(s) on it do you think would give you an estimate of the (dominant) frequency?

Bob Schor

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(6,785 Views)