LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Finding a Y value for a given X value?

Solved!
Go to solution

I have a small list of given x values and a large set of points in a cluster.  I am trying to find the corresponding y values to the given x values.  I tried using the interpolate 1d array function before I bundled the cluster but that did not give me the correct y values.  I'm new to labview and any help would be much appreciated.  Thanks.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(4,536 Views)

Attach your VI so we can see you tried to interpolate 1-D array, then we'll be able to show you how to fix it.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 13
(4,530 Views)

Here is the VI I usedasdf.JPG

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 13
(4,523 Views)

If you use interpolate array with an array of points, you get a linearly interpolated y value for x values that don't exist in the array of points. If you get something unexpected, show us your code. Make sure it contains typical data.

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 13
(4,521 Views)

@chazzchuzz wrote:

Here is the VI I usasdf.JPG

That's not a VI, but a picture. Please attach the actual VI.

Also, where is the cluster you mentioned earlier?

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 13
(4,517 Views)

Sorry about that.  Here is the VI.  Plasma emisions is the y coordinate of the cluster.  Right now it is just an array, there is a cluster containing the emissions and the x coordinate in a different VI.  I thought interpolate 1d array would work for getting the y value but it gives me the wrong value.  Here is a snapshot of the file where the x and y coordinate lists came from.  For x=800.62, I should be getting a value in the two thousands but I am getting something around -14.  Thanks so much for the help.Plasma emissions.JPG

0 Kudos
Message 6 of 13
(4,488 Views)

We can't run your VI because you haven't included any of the data as default.