LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fast Fourier Transformation and Arduino

Hello, 

I'm new at this forum, so if I posted topic in a wrong place, sorry! 

I'm a student and recently I'm doing project of virtual interface for measuring and analizing frequency of sound. So I have arduino and microphone. I'm using Arduino Uno 8bit converter to transform analog signal from microphone into digital and writing it into a text file. 

Now I need to do some further step to obtain frequency of the sound. And here is the problem. I was thinking of using FFT method, but when i tried to copy blocks from NI instructions, i somehow failed, and I don't really know where. As well i was trying to create subVi for reading data from .txt file and converting it to other type of data, but i think that i'm still missing something important, cause there's the same situation.

I'm attaching picture of my code. 

I need to get data from .txt file, put it trough FFT, create wavegraph and obtain frequency to display. Maybe I choosed wrong method as well? Maybe there's easier way to get all of this? 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(3,179 Views)

You have 2D arrays and you are trying to run 1D functions on them. What does your .txt file look like? I can help if I have a little more detail.

Message 2 of 14
(3,169 Views)

@heath89 wrote:

You have 2D arrays and you are trying to run 1D functions on them. What does your .txt file look like? I can help if I have a little more detail.

Okay, i have it. Kod2.png is actual code, thanks for this one thing. SubVi.png is how i converted string do proper array from file data (signals.png). 

The code now is not exactly what i wanted to have, but i needed something to test LabView - arduino communication.

And it doesn't work. I mean, i'm writing data to file trough external program CoolTerm, and now it occured that while i have launched LabView, CoolTerm have no access to COM port, and I can't even start with anything.