From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FPGA - Rate Limited Frequency Sine wave

I'm new to FPGA. What i'm trying to implement in a CRIO FPGA is a speed signal simulator.

Take a frequency, amplitude, and pos/neg rate limit from the host VI and output a corresponding speed signal.

The signal is 0-6000Hz, min 1hz step ( == .00015periods/tick) (conversion done in Host VI)

Looking to rate limit 0-6000Hz/s , min 100hz step(==slew rate step of 6.25E-14 periods/tick??) 48bit FXP?

Clock rate 40MHz

What i'm struggling with is how inefficent this appears to be. Because of the numbers i'm working with the fixed point's get very large. What's the best way to do this? Should I deal with larger numbers and then scale the input to the sine generator (in FPGA instead of host)?

I'm also going to end up with quite a few front panel objects? Whats the best way to handle that? (5 per speed signal and I have 5 speed signals)

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(2,986 Views)

this is pretty straight forward to implement.  if you look at the DDS examples for sine wave generation, you need to manipulate the increment value to change frequencies.  by rate limiting the change to the increment value, you have accomplished your goal.

this can be implemented in a loop for n generators.

however, if you are new to fpga, everything i have said may not make any sense.

Stu
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(2,978 Views)

I think it makes sense to me, the PNG in my post seems like it will work. What i'm struggling with is the specifics of how to implement it.