From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FPGA Loop delay not working

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi ,

I am new to FPGA programming and I am trying to learn to control the speed of the motor through FPGA. Our colleagues gave me a (plain) sample code but there seems to some problem with the loop delay. It is like, there is no effect of the loop tick count at all. 

I am attaching the snapshop. I don't know what's going on here.Smiley Very Happy 

For the 2000000 ticks, I expect to get 5ms delay. 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 27
(4,428 Views)

It should be (will be) 50 ms (at 40 MHz) for 2000000 ticks. Your code uses 200000 ticks, giving 200000X25ns (or 200000/40M) = 5 ms.

Why don't you click the wait function, and change the unit from ticks to ms?

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 27
(4,425 Views)

Hi wiebe,

I did try to change it to ms. But it was not working. I was trying to control the loop delay with my main vi using the control. No matter what values I tried the loop executing time was always the same. So i tried hardcoded value- no change in the total executing time.

Regards.

S

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 27
(4,421 Views)

add a 0 to 200000, so it becomes 2000000... Try that first, then we'll go from there.

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 27
(4,416 Views)

wiebe,

whether the value is 200000 or 20000000 or 4000000, the loop execution time is always the same. I mean there is no effect of the loop delay at all. I am not getting any warning or anyhing while compiling.

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 27
(4,413 Views)

Could you replace the metronome to a normal wait?

0 Kudos
Message 6 of 27
(4,409 Views)

I only have this for FPGA. I tried with other delay - no change in the behaviour.

0 Kudos
Message 7 of 27
(4,402 Views)