From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FPGA Development - Why is this comparator not working as intended?

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I am a student whose project has taken me to the beautiful land of Labview FPGA development. I am very new to this so any advice regarding my design is appreciated. Admittedly, Labview is much nicer than using Vivado, but I am having some trouble with some functions that should really be basic. I am reading two voltage inputs, comparing them, and their difference is compared to a user set value. Below is a picture from part of the front and back panels of this functionality (ignore the fact that I called my voltage readings I2 and I3): 

https://imgur.com/a/M2KRuen

As you can see from the front panel, the difference between the two is calculated correctly (around 1.6 in this picture). However, the LED "Diff Warning" that SHOULD turn on as soon as this difference is above "Differential Setting" is still turned off. As a consequence, "Fault Location" stays at 0 and is never set to 1. I've bashed my head at this for a while and honestly every compilation takes 10 minutes and I can't take it anymore.

Any idea why this might be? I will leave the code file attached as well if anyone is interested.

Thank you for your help everyone!

PS: Here is my system info

-NI cRIO 9024

-FPGA cRIO 9114

-Input module is NI 9223 (seems to work fine)

-Output module is NI 9401 (not as issue at this time)

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(2,109 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Valeliw