From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Extracting .s2p files from 8722A Network Analyzer?

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

I wish to extract .s2p files from my HP 8722A Network Analyzer.

I could not find a driver for it. It is connected to my computer over GPIB.

I am quite new to this, so if anyone could explain the overall process to extract .s2p files from a network Analyzer, that would be much appreciated.

I imagine that one takes a measurement, stores it under a certain filename, then a command retrieves it and sends it to the computer?

Thank you so much,

Nicolas

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(5,413 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author htnicolas

Nicolas,

Instead of extracting the .s2p files, which because of the age of the device (manual I found said 1991), could be very difficult, I think we would be better served communicating with the device directly and not using the files it creates. Instead of the process you described, we could set it to take a measurement, send the measurement to the computer, and have the computer do any manipulation/saving it may need.

This manual discusses the basics of communication over GPIB with that device in chapter 12:

http://cp.literature.agilent.com/litweb/pdf/08720-90135.pdf 

GPIB communication is typically pretty simple. The computer will just send the device in question the command or series of commands then wait for the response back, much like the GPIB examples in labview (Example finder>>Hardware IO>>GPIB).

Unfortunately for us, the Agilent website here:

http://www.home.agilent.com/agilent/product.jspx?cc=US&lc=eng&ckey=8722A:epsg:pro&nid=-536900197.536...