LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Extra Data written to file with time equal to zero

Solved!
Go to solution

I am new to labview. I am writing flow rate data to file using a while loop. My sample rate is 0.25 (I read one sample every 4 seconds) and I don't have any timing vi in the while loop. When I stop my program, my output file contains many data beyond the stop time. The time value reads 0 for all the data logged after the stop time but the channel values contain valid data. What could be wrong please? I have screenshots attached. The extra data read is sometimes more than the main data read during the program execution.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(1,720 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author mikeOLU
  • Get rid of the dynamic data sections. Nobody here wants to see that. Learn about proper array operations instead.
  • Get rid of all these local variables and their race conditions (You read from local variables and write to local variables of the same terminal in parallel. No way telling what happens first. e.g. your "time array" local variable gets read most likely before the terminal receives a new value, etc. etc.). None, or (almost none) of your locals are necessary. Get rid of them!
  • Initialize all your shift registers! The ones that are not initialized will retain data between calls, growing arrays forever.
  • Wouldn't it be sufficient to have one shift register with a 2D array than dozens of 1D arrays of the same length(?)?
  • Architect a state machine. Currently you would lose all data if the loop stops and there is a problem with writing to the file.
  • Please don't maximize the diagram and front panel to the screen. You need to be able to also look at the help windows at the same time.
Message 2 of 12
(1,702 Views)