LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Exposing accessor vis as Properties in a .NET assembly

Solved!
Go to solution

I want to build a .NET assembly where I can expose Methods and Properties of a .NET class.  I have no problem creating Method vis and having them accessable but I just can't figure out how to get an accessor vi to give me access to the class data via property nodes.  I use the New > VI for Data Member access.. option and I have the Make available through property nodes option checked.  No matter how I configure the Build Specification I can't get the properties I want to be visible.  The only property that is visible is called "InstanceIndex" ...whatever that means?  I am a long time Labview programmer but this is my first venture into .NET assemblies and Classes.

My project is to write an ASCOM compliant driver that will control a stepper motor connected to an Arduino UNO.  ASCOM is a standard established by the Astronomy community for ensuring applications and hardware are compatible.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(4,062 Views)

Here is a simply zipped project that illustrates my problem.  It contains a class called Human that contains some private data (Height,Weight,Age,HairColor) that I created accessor vis for.  I also create a method called Command.vi  I exported the Command.vi and changed the scope of the accessor vis to Public. I created a build specification which creates a .Net assembly that contains a Human() constructor.  The "What am I doing wrong.vi" illustrates that the accessor vis are doing their job of making the private data accessible via property nodes but only when I references the Human class directly.  When I reference the .Net assembly constructor called Human() there are no properties available except for the InstanceIndex property.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Peter

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 13
(4,035 Views)

Hi Peter,