From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Export Waveform to Spreadsheet - Timestamp Issue

Hi there.

Almost total newbie here. I've searched the forums around here for an answer, and i can't find one that explicity states how to do exactly what I need - but i apologise if what I am asking is trivial, or maybe if my description causes you to cringe at how little i understand of LabVIEW.

I was thrown headfirst into LabVIEW a few days back, having never used it before and having only a very limited, basic knowledge of programming from my earlier education, and have succeeded in doing some minor alterations to a program written already, which in a nutshell takes in data from a number of  analogue voltage sensors, goes through a data acquisition box, and is converted to a digital waveform format in LabVIEW (v7.1) periodically.

From what I understand, the program runs using a sample rate and a number of samples specified - in other words for a set time, where it then outputs a timestamp/sensor voltage for each sensor in spreadsheet form. I don't know the entire mechanism but my problem is with this part - exporting it - which is the feature i have added.

What i need is a format for the timestamps in the spreadsheet which begins at zero. Right now, i'm using the Export Waveform to Spreadsheet VI, practically unchanged from its default code. I've put it in, i believe, in the right place, and can run the program to obtain a file readable in Excel, which shows the correct sensor voltages at the correct increments. The changes i have made have been only to change the "Waveform Time to Date String" module to omit the date, and give the time to 6 decimal places.