LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Eurotherm 2704 connection via serial port with ModBus

Hello guys,

first some words about my problem:

I have to develop a software which allows reading and writing the temperature (we have 3 Eurotherm 2704) (I think some of you know this problem yet 🙂 ).

I wrote already the program and it works, but I used "iTools OPC Server" for my program and it was the demo version (works only 30 minutes). The group doesn't want to pay for the iTools, I should solve this problem without iTools :(.

In this forum I found out, that I can use the ModBus for it:

http://forums.ni.com/ni/board/message?board.id=170&thread.id=468139&view=by_date_ascending&page=2

I know, there are some similar threads here, but I am new with LabView and need some help.

I downloaded one example “my modbus serial query.vi “

http://forums.ni.com/ni/board/message?board.id=170&thread.id=135288&view=by_date_ascending&page=2

but it does not work (I am not really sure, what I have to change in the file)

With OPC Server I found out:

COM5

Baud Rate 9600

Parity: None

Flow Control: None

Data Bits: 8(RTU) (I can choose RTU, but where can I change to 8 bit ?! )

And by other properties, I have no idea what I have to change there

For Example

Modbus Data Unit In (all read and write mode ? Which one do I need to read the temperature and to set the set temperature?)

Modbus Command ?!!!

No idea.

I have folowing adresses (comms address 0x00030001, canonical address: 1)

Which one do I need ?!

I think if I get the signal from one temperature controller, I can do it for other, but my problem is now THIS one.

Can you help me whit it ?

Should I use a other example ?! Maybe do you know better one?

Thank you, very much.

Alexander

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(9,628 Views)

Nobody ?!

It is possible to get / set data from / to Eurotherm Controller with VISA ?!

Kind Regards: Alexander

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 14
(9,605 Views)