LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Error with GPIB connecting a Keithley sourcemeter

Hi 

I have a vi for making N measurements, put them in an array, calculate mean value and SD. The measurements are obtained from a Keithley 2401 Sourcemeter which is connected using a GPIB-USB-HS. This vi was working previously. 

When I run the vi, it shows an error message with two possible reasons (1) LabVIEW memory is full and (2) NI-488: No listeners on the GPIB.

When the highlight execution is used, the error is occuring at the 'Send' (GPIB 488.2 Palette).

The vi is attached. Could someone please have a look. I am a beginner in LabVIEW and any help is very much appreciated.

Akhil

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(3,514 Views)

Besides that the LV VI does not contain well designed LV code (ughs, sequence structures all over the place!), i would guess that the address of the device is not 3.

Please use NI MAX to verify the address/functionality of the device. Also you might want to check if the cable is still correctly attached and the device is turned on.

Norbert

Norbert
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
CEO: What exactly is stopping us from doing this?
Expert: Geometry
Marketing Manager: Just ignore it.
Message 2 of 9
(3,505 Views)

You should not need the secondary GPIB address.  If your sourcemeter is set to 3, just use the address of 3.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
Message 3 of 9
(3,503 Views)

Thank you both for the quick reply. This vi was written by the person who was using the equipment previously and she has already left.

I believe the address of of the GPIB is 24 as MAX shows GPIB0::24::INSTR.