LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Error in waveform mean.

Hi all,

I'm pretty new to LabView programming.

I'm trying to read data from a binary file, plotting the waveform and doing some operations with this data (like averaging, std deviation ... ) and saving the results in xls/csv.

I don't have any problem with rebuilding and plotting the three waveforms from the bin file, but the results I got from std deviation & variance block is wrong. I'm matching this result with data on an Excel sheet.

The binary file is created by another VI, that's read three voltages from a DAQ and save in a bin and txt file.

More deeply, we have read for 10 seconds three voltages (the supply and the voltage applied to 2 resistors) with a NI9215 DAQ, at the rate of 1kHz and 1000 samples.

We used the data on the txt file to create the Excel sheet.

I can't find wich error I'm doing.

Many thanks to all.

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(2,726 Views)
  • Please attach your waveform file.
  • Notice the coercion dots on the mean function? It is not designed to operate on arrays of waveforms (and is it not even clear what you expect it to do (create a mean of everything? Creating an array of means, one for each waveform etc.). There is a function that operates on waveforms (amplitude and level measurements). I would change the waveforms to simple arrays immediately for further processing.
  • "Index array" is resizeable and you don't even need to wire the indices here.
  • It seems pointless to have the tab control terminal inside the FOR loop.
  • Instead of the error case, you should use a conditional tunnel.
  • Wouldn't one diagram constant be sufficient in the error case? You can always branch the wire. Avoid duplication!
  • the output of the =0 is not used anywhere.
  • Don't wire under structures
  • There is a plain "mean" function, you don't use the variance.
  • Don't wire right-to-left (output file name constants)