LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Error -200462 OUTPUT BUFFER IS EMPTY

To all,

I am new to labview so please be patient. Thanks.

Basically, I am trying to make up a code that will synchronize several different testing apparatuses (cameras, force sensor, testing machine).

I am using a  DAQ USBX-6341 board.

I am using a counter terminal to generate a digital pulse that will trigger the cameras, force sensor and testing machine all to start at the same time.

I have the force sensor hooked up into the analog in channel/port 1.

I have the cameras hooked up into the digital p0.0 channel/port.

I have the testing machine connected via COM5.

When I press RUN, the force sensor and testing machine work fine, but I get the following error message:

" ERROR  -200462   

Generation cannot be starte because output buffer is empty. ......"

I think the problem is the camera is a digital output port and that the trigger signal does not support this.

If I change the digital output to a digital  input, the output buffer problem goes away.

I do not want to collect data (such as a wave) from the inport. I just want to tell the camera to start collecting data in its respective software.

Does anyone have an idea about what my error is and how I can get around this? My labview is very close to working!

Thanks

gcass

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(4,118 Views)

gcass,

It sounds like your project is coming along!  It sounds like you are trying to generate a digital pulse to activate your camera, is that correct?  If so, you might consider using a counter to generate this pulse instead of a digital output.  You can look at the Gen Dig Pulse example under Hardware Input and Output » DAQmx » Generating Digital Pulses in the LabVIEW examples.