From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Error - 200462 - Generation cannot be started because the output buffer is empty.

I am fairly new to LabVIEW and beg your forgiveness ahead of time for my lack of experience.  After scouring the forums, I have found several posts that deal with this error, but none of them apply to what I am doing.

My goal:

I need to write a voltage to an analog output card every 1ms (simulated by the random number)

Error:

Error -200462 occurred at DAQmx Start Task.vi:7

Generation cannot be started because the output buffer is empty.

Write data before starting a buffered generation. The following actions can empty the buffer: changing the size of the buffer, unreserving a task, setting the Regeneration Mode property, changing the Sample Mode, or configuring retriggering.

Task Name: _unnamedTask<300>

Hardware Setup:

NI CDAQ-9188 (Ethernet 8-slot chassis) - (Self-test in MAX returns no errors)

NI-9264 (16CH Analog Out)

Connected via the company's network infrastructure

The Problem:

Every time I run the VI, it seems to run at the correct speed, however after completion I get an error stating that generation cannot be started because the output buffer is empty.  At this time I have completely depleted my LabVIEW skills and cannot find what I am doing wrong.  I have identified that the error is coming from the "DaqMX Start Task" VI, but I have no idea how to resolve it.

I attached my VI below.  Thank you in advance for any help,

Message 1 of 10
(9,461 Views)

pvanzyl

Thanks for your post and uploading your code.  Your code looks nice, but I think I may be able to spot why you are getting your error message.