From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Error 200279 - LabVIEW Buffering Issue with Accelerometers

Hi,

I am very new to LabVIEW (only having learnt the program last week), and I am encountering a buffering issue that has me stumped.

I am trying to acquire acceleration signals with time measurements from three accelerometers on channels a0 -a2 using a NI 9234 Module (and a cDAQ 9174 chassis). Our goal is to determine the shear wave velocity of a shear wave passing through soil by placing the accelerometers on the soil surface, and striking a metal plate with a hammer (offset some distance from the accelerometers) to initiate the wave.

Initially, we had trouble acquiring "smooth" signals from LabVIEW (we have been viewing the acceleration vs. time plots in Octave). The data points were only logged every 3-4 ms (sometimes upwards of 8 ms)... and we could not speed up the iteration with multiple attempts at the following approaches:

- changing the sampling rate and number of samples per channel,

- using a "wait",

- trying "tick count" and "high resolution relative seconds" to get the elapsed time measurement,

• changing the sampling rate and number of samples per channel,

• using a "wait",

• trying "tick count" and "high resolution relative seconds" to get the elapsed time measurement,

• removing the waveform plots, as this is also said to bog down the while loop
  • switching the DAQmx Read VI Type, to create different forms of data (i.e., double and waveform)
  • use of shift register for the elapsed time
  • breaking out the task into separate channels, and creating a task manually within LabVIEW (instead of through MAX)