LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Error -1073807252 while Reading and saving data from a serial port

Solved!
Go to solution

I need to read an instrument data connected via a serial port (RS-232) with the following characteristics: 

• 8 data bits
  • No parity bits
  • 1 stop bits
  • 19200 baud
  • No hardwarehandshake
  • No XON/XOFF handshake

The instument sends out every ~0.033 seconds a text string containing 4 numbers: two intergers, followed by two floats. The first two integers are diagnostic data and can be discarded. I am interested only in the subsequent 2 floats, which are the actual instrument reading.

As I am new to labVIEW I started from the example "Continuous serial and write.vi", trying to adapt it to my needs. I erased the writing block, as I am only interested in reading the data. 

I then added a series of operations to save the reading of the instrument, together with the current time, in a text file as tab delimited data. 

As not need to sample the data every 0.1 s, I slow down the loop with the "wait until next ms mutiple" function. 

Here I get a strange behaviour: if I set the time to wait to small numbers (10, 20, 30 ms)  everything seems to work pretty fine. Instead if I set larger numbers (50 up to the desired value of 100 ms), after a few seconds I get the Error -1073807252 with the possible reason:

VISA: (Hex 0xBFFF006C) An overrun error occurred during transfer. A character was not read from the hardware before the next character arrived.

error_labview.PNG

I do not understand this error, as the data flow is pretty limited and the computational speed should not be a problem.

Attached you can see my code and the error message. 

Thanks for the help!

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(1,684 Views)