LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Eclipse Help: Program "gcc" not found in PATH

Hi All.

I know this is not a LabVIEW question, but some LabVIEW developers use Eclipse. I think...

I'm trying to work my way through the NI tutorial: Getting Started with C/C++ Development Tools for NI Linux Real-Time, Eclipse Edition

And I'm sad to say that I can't figure it out. I follow the directions. I get the following errors:

Program "g++" not found in PATH

Program "gcc" not found in PATH

Google tells me that it probably has something to do with compiler installations on my computer. But dude, I am a LabVIEW developer - I don't normally have to deal with that BULL@#*%! (THANK YOU JEFF K)

So does anyone out there have enough experience with Eclipse to be able to help a noob that hates text languages even more now?

Thanks in advance

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(22,526 Views)

I do all of my cross compiling from a Linux VM, but my first hope is that the error message is indeed accurate.

Try going to Windows -> Preferences -> C/C++ -> Build -> Environment (or something like that) and create a PATH variable with the path to your toolchain. 

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(22,506 Views)

Darin,

Thanks for your response. I am following the concept, but the details are still a little beyond me. Can you help me with a more specific response...

* I didn't choose the toolchain, NI did. So I understand the *concept* of a toolchain but I don't know what is on here or where it is

* When you say "path to" is my target a file? a folder? can you give me an example?

* This tutorial purportedly works for some folks (but not on either of the two computers I have tried it on). Do you have any guesses as to why that might be given your experience?

Thanks a lot for your insight...

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 6
(22,467 Views)

* I didn't choose the toolchain, NI did. So I understand the *concept* of a toolchain but I don't know what is on here or where it is