From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Easy way to find inputs into a node/function/etc.

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi all,

I'm really new to LabVIEW (I have to use it for a project I'm working on), and I was wondering if there is any easy way to select/determine the source of what goes into a node or function without having to trace the wire all the way back manually. The block diagram I'm working with is pretty messy so it's tough to see exactly what inputs feed into each node/function block. I'd like to be able to look at the inputs of a given node/function block and easily see "variable x goes into this" or something like that.

This image shows an example of what I mean. For the subtraction function with the blue circle around it, how can I easily identify the two inputs into that function without manually tracing the wire?

Capture.PNG

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(2,441 Views)

You can try the Find Wire Source right-click plugin:

https://forums.ni.com/t5/LabVIEW-Shortcut-Menu-Plug-Ins/Find-Wire-Source-llb/ta-p/3521499

Also, as you learn LabVIEW, you may want to find some materials on writing more modular, scalable code so you don't end up with diagrams that are so large they are difficult to understand without needing tools like this.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 12
(2,435 Views)

It won't cross structure boundaries, but you can double click on wires to highlight them.

That might help, although as Darren pointed out the solution ideally is to not write code that becomes difficult to read 🙂

GCentral
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 12
(2,430 Views)