From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EMG force measurement

Hi,

I am trying to measure an EMG signal. What i want to do is continually sample a signal and when the voltage signal level goes above a predetermined voltage level it triggers a TRUE/FALSE. I am using a USB 6210 for the DAQ and i am using LabVIEW 7.1. Does anybody know the best way to do this or have any other insight. I am new to LabVIEW, any help would be great.

eric

Message Edited by ericDev on 09-18-2006 12:12 AM

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(2,739 Views)
This would be my advise.

If it is just a project work related activity, go ahead with a DAQ card

But if you application is something more vital, then it would be advisible to go with specialized instrumntation that satisfies all biomedical signal acquisition requirements.

For starters, you can use either DAQ assistant express VI's ( search for online tutorials on DAQ assistant in ni.com) or voltage acquisition VI's in examples shipped with LabVIEW
Go to Find Examples>>Hardware input outout>>DAQmx>>analog measurement>>Voltage folder and look at acquisition example vi's provided here

the most important thing would be to select an ADC/Analog Input range that is optimal for the voltage range of the signal that you wish to measure

when the voltage signal level goes above a predetermined voltage level it triggers a TRUE/FALSE

for this, in the above progrmas,  just use appropriate comparison function found in block diagram>>functions palette>>comparison functions and compare the read data with our threshold level and output true/false on a LED indicator
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 3
(2,730 Views)

Hi Eric,